10K Training, Michael Jackson, and Lots of Food

Saturday’s Workout: run – 2.6 m

Sunday’s Workout: cycle – strength

Monday’s Workout: cycle – endurance

So we had another fairly nice weekend of sunshine-y weather here in the hills.  I ended up going for a run on Saturday, despite my best intentions of making the 9:00 AM cycle class.  It just wasn’t happening.  Turns out, the run was meant to be.  I ran a nice, hilly route around the historic streets of Montford and it felt great.  Still running really slow.  I have never been a speed demon when it comes to running.  I average about a 10-minute mile on most days.  S-L-O-W.  :oops:  But slow and steady wins the race, right?  Or at least finishes.  This year, my goal is to really do some speed work and actually “train” a little prior to the Bridge Run.  In the past, I’ve just increased my distances a little each week and that was the extent of it.  I’d like to improve my time a good bit this year…maybe run sub-9 min miles this time??  So I have found a training plan at Hal Higdon’s website that I will modify a little.  While I don’t consider myself a complete “Novice”, I didn’t fit the description for an “Intermediate” runner in ol’ Hal’s book.  So I’m going with the “novice” training plan but I will add interval/speed work on Thursdays of every week.  Speed work consists mainly of increasing your pace for short intervals and then returning to your normal pace to recover.  This is easy to do on a track and increase your pace for a certain distance, say, 400 meters, or one time around.  If you don’t have a track available, you could just do it for a certain amount of time, say, 90 seconds for each burst.  Should be interesting!  I will keep you posted on how it’s going.  I’m exactly at the 8-week countdown.

On to food re-caps.  I will confess that this past weekend is not going to really fit the “healthy” part of this “healthy living” blog.  Oh well.

Saturday morning started off with a mango lassi.  This is a smooth, creamy drink that originates from India.  You can get a good one in any quality Indian restaurant.  Mangoes were on sale at the grocery and I couldn’t resist.  I will share this funny (kind of gross) story:  when I opened the fridge to get the plain yogurt out, low and behold my Hungry Hubby had apparently consumed it sometime prior.  So I improvised.  With sour cream. While it ended up tasting fine (actually delicious!), I kind of couldn’t get around that I was drinking sour cream.  Next time I will check to make sure we have the ingredients before cutting up the mango.  :razz:

I accompanied the creamy beverage with a hearty bowl of oatmeal with apples and cranberries.

Lunch was leftovers from dinner out at Chorizo the night before.  They weren’t as pretty the second time around so you get no picture.

Dinnertime found me at a friend’s house for a pre-concert meal prior to heading out to see Who’s Bad, the best Michael Jackson tribute band EVER.  More on that in a minute.  Dinner was a pizza from Whole Foods with a salad.

So, I cannot even begin to describe the amazing-ness of the show.  This band is out of Chapel Hill, NC and they are world-renowned for their performance of Michael Jackson’s hits.  I mean, it’s truly unreal.  They don’t just get up there and sing; they perform. And play their own instruments.  And dance with moves straight from MJ’s choreography.  Which, by the way, we practiced before the show on the Wii game, “The Experience”.  It was truly an MJ evening all around.

Sunday morning brought another omelet a la Joe – but first, I needed something in my stomach immediately:

Pineapple Chobani with a sprinkle of granola.  Mmmmmm.  

And for the omelet:  sauteed mushrooms, spinach, garlic, onions, and cheese.  Oh yes, and bacon.  Real, honest-to-goodness bacon.  Such a rare treat and SO worth every bite.  :)

I actually skipped lunch on Sunday…perhaps I subconsciously knew what was coming later.  But I just ran out of time between grocery shopping for this week, attending a 2:30 cycle class, and preparing food for the Super Bowl party we went to.  It turned out to be a good thing, as I proceeded to eat and drink my way into extreme discomfort over the next few hours…

My contribution to the Super Bowl potluck (our genius idea was to have a potluck dinner instead of the usual snack-fest that is the Super Bowl in an effort to not gorge ourselves with junk food…mission NOT accomplished!):  Life-Changing Macaroni and Cheese (thanks, Jen!).  And unpictured artichoke and feta-stuffed turkey burgers, loosely based on this recipe (again, thanks Jen!).

Other contributions included…home made spinach dip…

…home made jalapeno popper-type thingys….

Stewy White Beans

…unpictured guacamole (it went too fast, I couldn’t get a shot!!)…

…a green salad with all the fixins (also unpictured – sorry!)…

…hamburgers/turkey burgers/veggie burgers/hot dogs (all unpictured)…

…and last but definitely not least, a skillet cookie.  A la unpictured mode.  ;)

Is it any wonder that I felt nauseous after consuming all of this?  I woke up still full this morning.  Really.  Ugh.  :oops:

Breakfast today was a bowl of Shredded Wheat ‘n Bran with dried cranberries.  Lunch was leftover mac and cheese and a turkey burger patty.

Dinner was a fresh, delicious creation from Ellie Kreiger’s So Easy:

This Ravioli Toss took about 10 minutes and was light and refreshing.  I used Buitoni Four Cheese ravioli and I think the dish turned out well.

So, I think that about does it.  We might have a snow day tomorrow, which would translate into some much-needed fitness shopping time for me!  I need some things that I will discuss in future posts if I get them.

Until then…I leave you with this:

(Thanks, Kerry, for this sharing this shot!)  :razz:

This entry was posted in Cycling, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10K Training, Michael Jackson, and Lots of Food

  1. Margaret says:

    Hey gal- Love the blog and love the recipes. I have already printed that mac and cheese. I can’t wait to try. Good luck with the training. Can’t wait until bridge run weekend!

    • Kat says:

      Hey Margaret! Thanks for reading! My one tip for the mac and cheese is to make sure you bake it in the size dish it calls for. I didn’t have an 11×17 pan so I used a 3-4 qt Le Creuset. The topping was just too deep, so when you served it, a spoonful just ended up being almost all breadcrumbs, which tended to dry out the serving. Looking forward to seeing you in April! :)

Leave a Reply

