Hanging In…One Week to Go

This dreary weekend has brought lots of time indoors doing things I have been putting off for the last four or five beautiful weekends.  And I’m not complaining – I sometimes really appreciate an excuse to just hang inside at home.  I tend to feel guilty about doing that on a beautiful weekend day.  It’s nice to just give yourself permission to “nest”, if you will.

However, due to the weather and my temporary ban from the gym, I have no exercise news of note.  My apologies.  This blog will return to a “healthy living” blog once I get cleared from the Doc to return to training but until then, it will resemble more closely a food blog.  Can’t be too bad, right?  ;)  Speaking of clearance from the Doc, one week to go. My follow-up appointment is next Monday.  There is a chance that he will say things aren’t healing like he wants them to and may impose a longer non-exercise sentence…but my fingers are crossed.  I haven’t experienced any pain or weirdness, so I’m hoping that no news is good news.

Picking up where I left off…

Saturday night’s dinner was a repeat of a favorite:  Kale Lasagna Diavolo.  You may or may not recall from the last time I made it (what!?  you don’t memorize my posts?!) that I used our own home made red sauce in place of the “diavolo”.  This time, I followed the recipe exactly and loved the subtle change.  The diavolo is a very simple sauce:  tomato puree, garlic, and red pepper flakes.  It really simplified the whole palette of the dish, which to me, lets you focus on the yuminess of the ingredients individually.  And it added just a touch of heat.  Perfect.

Breakfast Sunday was a departure from our usual feast since we covered that on Saturday.  Just a nice, quick bowl of shredded wheat and bran with dried cranberries and 1% milk.  I switch back and forth between skim and 1%.  I was a 2% girl growing up and through most of my adult life so far.  I switched to skim a couple of years ago but still appreciate the thickness that comes with any other milk.  One thing I have found:  organic skim seems to be thicker than non-organic skim.  Is that just my imagination?  Anyway, I do enjoy a bowl of cereal, always have.

And then this happened:

The menu-planning frenzy of indecision and overwhelmed-ness.  :shock:  Not really.  It really is fun for me to have time to sit down and pour through my cookbooks.  An added bonus this week:  I have two on loan from foodie friends Emily and Jason.  He is a chef so if they say a cookbook is good, I listen!  :)  The books are:  Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone by Deborah Madison, and Jean-Georges:  Cooking at Home with a Four-Star Chef.  Both seem to be excellent so far.  I actually might have to purchase my own Vegetarian Cooking, it’s so huge and comprehensive…more like a reference book, which I like to collect and keep as opposed to borrow.

So here’s what the week holds.  Note that some of the recipes that were meant to happen last week re-appear this week…you always have room to shuffle things around a bit.  That’s what freezers are for!  :)  Also note that I tend to save my more complicated/time consuming meals for weekend nights.  Look for reviews and recaps of these dishes to come.

Last night’s menu is a perfect example of a more time-consuming recipe taking place on a weekend night.  I had plenty of time to work on this three-step meal without rushing and feeling frazzled (remember, I’m still a very novice cook, it doesn’t take much to stress me out in the kitchen!  I long for the day that I will be able to “whip up” a fabulous meal while casually chatting with friends in my chef’s kitchen built for entertaining ;)).  Chicken tikka masala is a delicious Indian dish that made my whole house smell divine as I was preparing it.  Joe walked in from disc golf and made a beeline for the kitchen to see what smelled so good.  While not a complicated or difficult dish, it is time-consuming.  But so fun!  We love Indian food and this was the first time I had cooked it at home.  We were not disappointed.  Thanks to Jen at Bakin’ and Eggs for the recipe inspiration!   Looking forward to these leftovers!

Looks like a beautiful, if chilly, Monday!  I will enjoy a nice, long walk with Sadie this afternoon after work.  Happy Monday!

What do you do on rainy weekends?  Do you enjoy the downtime or does it make you restless?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Leftovers, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hanging In…One Week to Go

  1. Jen says:

    Your Tikka Masala looks delicious! It does smell wonderful when it’s cooking.

    I also stress waaayyy too much about weekly menu planning. It takes me at least an hour – ridiculous!

  2. Pingback: Picky Running, Lack of Planning, and Being OK with it All | Moderate Mountain Mama

Leave a Reply

