Recipes…ask and you shall receive!

Wednesday Workout – cycle – endurance

So I have received some feedback from some wonderful readers and the overwhelming response is that you want recipes.  I have been working on that and here’s the deal:  if it’s “linkable”, i.e. if it exists anywhere on the Internets, I will post the link under “Recipes” to the right.  The thing is, a lot of my meals aren’t from recipes that are posted online – often, a recipe has been shared with me by a friend or family member on a handwritten (gasp!) recipe card – or it’s just simple, thrown-together ingredients.  When that’s the case, I will do my best to include the recipe in my post.  That will make my posts longer, hope that’s not an issue!

That said, here’s the recipe for the delicious

Curried Chicken with Cashews – from Pam N. (♥)

1/2 stick (1/4 c) unsalted butter (I subbed olive oil for 2 tbsp)

2 medium onions, finely chopped (2 c)

2 large garlic cloves, minced (I used 3)

1 tbsp finely chopped, peeled, fresh ginger

3 tbsp curry powder

2 tsp salt

1 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp cayenne (this is some HEAT – I modify to 1/4 tsp)

1 (14.5 oz) can petite diced tomatoes

1/4 c chopped fresh cilantro

2 – 2.5 lbs boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into bite size pieces

3/4 c cashews

3/4 c plain yogurt (whole or lowfat)

Heat butter in 5-6 quart stockpot over moderately low heat until foam subsides, then cook onions, garlic, and ginger, stirring until softened, about five minutes.  Add curry powder, salt, cumin, and cayenne – cook, stirring, two minutes.  Add chicken and cook, stirring to coat, three minutes.  Add tomatoes, including juice, and cilantro – bring to simmer, then cover and simmer gently, stirring occasionally, about 40 minutes or until meat is cooked.  Just before serving: Pulse cashews in food processor or electric grinder until finely ground, then add to curry along with yogurt.  Simmer gently, stirring until sauce is thickened, about five minutes.  Serve w/ basmati or jasmine rice.  Garnish w/ cilantro.

Here’s the recipe for the mango salsa:

Mango Salsa

2 ripe mangos, peeled and chopped

1 small can crushed pineapple

juice of 1/2 a lime

2 – 3 tbsp cilantro

1 -2 medium cloves of garlic

dash salt

dash red pepper flakes

roughly 1/2 c chopped green onion (I have subbed red onion in a pinch)

Throw all ingredients into a bowl.  Done.  This will keep in the fridge for a few days.  Use it as a tortilla chip dip, on top of quesadillas, or as a sort of chutney on white fish like mahi mahi or sea bass.

These amounts are totally estimates.  Play around with it to learn what you like!  It’s a little different every time I make it.

I think that covers it for the recipe posting.  Let me know if I’ve left something out from my last few posts and I’ll get it to you.

Here’s a brief recap of the day’s food:

Breakfast was another protein-filled egg and cheese sandwich on an Earth Grains Sandwich Thin.  

I snacked on an apple with Whole Foods almond butter.  Nut butters add protein to your snacks.  Try it on apples, bananas, celery, or English muffins for a satisfying, yummy belly-filler.  

Lunch is unpictured and was a treat – lunch out with a coworker at a local restaurant, Tomato Cocina Latina.  This is an El Salvadoran restaurant, one of the unknown treasures in Asheville.  I had a bean and cheese pupusa, a chicken soft taco, and a veggie tamal – a.k.a. “Combo #2”.  I love this food because it’s not drenched in cheese and heavy sauces.  Just fresh, simple dishes that aren’t overwhelming.

Dinner was on my own – Joe had a boy’s night at the bowling alley.  I tend to skip meat entirely when I’m eating without him.  I could probably be a total vegetarian if I wanted to – I don’t really crave meat and rarely eat it when he’s not around.  I would miss fish, though.  So, I fixed myself a salad with baby spinach, black beans, avocado, onion, 1/2 a can of tuna, and a sprinkle of chopped pecans.  I used to not be able to stomach canned tuna but I buy the kind in olive oil, squeeze some lime juice over it, and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Drizzled all of this with my balsamic dressing and, voila!  A quick, easy, healthy dinner.  

I promise I’ll be back soon with more exercise and fitness related info!  This was a food-heavy post in response to readers’ requests and I wanted to go back and cover previous meals’ recipes.

Are you the type of cook that always needs a recipe to follow?  Or do you just tend to throw things together?  Or are you a good balance of both?


 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

