Rest Day = Fun Day

Friday: Rest day!

So since I free myself of a workout obligation on Fridays, I open myself to a nice, leisurely end of the week celebration.  Which looked about like this:

Beers with friends at our favorite local brewery, The Wedge.  We are so lucky here in Asheville to have, at last count, uh…maybe TEN local craft breweries.  With another opening soon.  We beat out Portland, OR for Beer City, USA this year.  We love our local breweries!  Just when I think that a town this size (small) can’t possibly support another brewery, another one opens, and does extremely well.

I’ll rewind to the start of the day and go from there for meals.

Breakfast was a quick bowl of bran flakes and skim milk with dried cranberries.  You don’t even need sugar when you use this sweetened fruit.  Cranberries are rich in antioxidants and nutrients – read about it here.

Again, I snacked on an apple and almond butter.  I just love this combo.  The apple helps fulfill your fruit servings for the day and the almond butter adds a nice dose of protein to hold you over til your next meal.  Plus, it’s delicious.  Love it!

Lunch was a salad made with spinach, leftover carmelized butternut squash (told you I’d use it on a salad!), dried cranberries, feta cheese, and pumpkin seeds.  Drizzled with balsamic vinaigrette – 3/4 c oil, 1/4 c balsamic vinegar, 1 tbsp brown sugar, 1 tbsp ketchup, 1 tbsp dijon mustard, 1-2 cloves minced garlic (or to taste). I keep a bottle of this in my fridge at all times.  It takes less than five minutes to whip up.

Another picture from The Wedge just to re-illustrate the importance of rest days…and to lead into the rest of the evening’s indulgences…

We decided to grab dinner at a new pizza joint that we had heard good things about – Pizzeria Ritrovo.  It did not disappoint.

We started with a Della Casa salad, featuring romaine heart, grape tomatoes, pickled red onions, basil, and balsamic vinegar.

Next, my friend Emily and I split the Funghi pizza, made with local mushrooms, fresh cream, Pantaleo cheese, and fresh oregano.  This was a wonderful concoction.  I used to really dislike mushrooms, and they are still not my most favorite food on earth, but this combo sounded so good that I had to try it.  I’m glad I did because it was delicious.

The boys shared a special pizza with a lot of meat.  I think steak was one of the ingredients. They were apparently thrilled with whatever it was as there were no leftovers!

Just when I thought I couldn’t eat any more, this happened:

I mean, come on…the place has a homemade gelato bar.  How could we not????  The two flavors we chose (and we split these amongst four people, by the way) were Torrone and Chocolate Fig.  Words cannot describe.

So it’s a beautiful Saturday, I’m home from work (ugh!), and I am getting ready to go play.  I’ll be back tomorrow with a recap of the rest of this gorgeous weekend!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Leftovers, Recipes, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rest Day = Fun Day

  1. Pingback: Moderate Mountain Mama

  2. Pingback: Picky Running, Lack of Planning, and Being OK with it All | Moderate Mountain Mama

Leave a Reply

