Spring Fever

Saturday’s Workout: run – 2.5-3 miles

Sunday’s Workout: outdoor bike ride – 25 miles

This has been an unbelievable weekend of gorgeous weather.  For a minute, we skipped winter and moved on to spring.  It inspired a lot of people to get outside, myself included.  Saturday after work, I was able to convince Joe to join me for a short run.  I’m still taking it slow since it’s been so long since I’ve run.  We did a nice, easy jaunt around the neighborhood and through the local cemetery (sounds weird but it’s beautiful and has some good hilly terrain).

It was so warm I was able to run in shorts and a tank top.  I made sure to stretch afterward since I am so fresh back into it.

After running, we got cleaned up and went for an early dinner at one of our favorite, cheap, delicious burrito shacks, Mamacita’s.  It’s like Subway for Mexican fare… good, fresh ingredients and the price is *right*.  I had the chipolte chicken burrito with all the yumminess they could fit into the whole wheat tortilla – cheese, salsa fresca, sour cream, guacamole, and lettuce.  We rented a couple of Red Box movies and came home for a quiet, relaxing evening.

Sunday started off with the most wonderful breakfast/brunch:

Omelets a la Joe with black beans, mozerella, spinach, red bell pepper, onions, and garlic.  Accompanied by a toasted Earth Grains Thin Bun topped with made-by-a-friend berry preserves.

The afternoon brought more outdoor activities.  I was dying to get out on the road with my bike…it has been months!  So my dear friends Andrea and Butch let me tag along on a good little 25 mile ride through the countryside of Old Fort, NC.  It was a lot of flat with a few hills thrown in – perfect.  I fueled with an apple and trail mix and it held me over until the end of the ride no problem.

Such a perfect day for being out on the road!!  So thankful for my bike and my fellow cyclists to share the day with.

Followed this perfect ride with a stop at the local watering hole, The Wedge (yes, again!).  It’s a popular local hangout for cyclists – it’s on the way home for a lot of local routes.  I just rolled up in my cycle shorts and felt right at home.  Love Asheville that way.

Had a couple of beers and then realized how hungry I was after the 900+ calories I burned on my ride.  Joe came up with the wonderful idea of a Low Country Boil and went to the store in search of the ingredients.  He returned shortly thereafter and proceeded to cook a real treat:  boiled shrimp, corn on the cob, and red potatoes.

I love this view!!  I am so lucky to have a husband who loves to cook.

Low Country Boil:

1 lb shrimp

approx 10 red new potatoes, cut in half

2 ears of corn on the cob

3/4 small container of Old Bay seasoning

1/2 stick unsalted butter, divided

several squeezed lemon wedges

salt and pepper to taste

Bring 6 quarts of water, 1/4 stick of butter and Old Bay to boil in a stock pot with a strainer.  Add potatoes, boil for 10 minutes.  Turn off heat, add corn, cook for two minutes, then add shrimp, cook for three more minutes.  Lift strainer with shrimp, corn, and potatoes out of pot.  Put shrimp on ice to stop cooking.  Put corn and potatoes in an unused pot.  Add remaining 1/4 stick of butter, lemon wedges, salt and pepper.  Serve alongside shrimp.

We were out of cocktail sauce so I made my own with ketchup, horseradish, balsamic vinegar, and lemon juice.

Good meals, great weekend!  Back to the grind tomorrow!

What do you like to do when the weather turns nice?  How do you incorporate beautiful weather into your workout routine?

This entry was posted in Cycling, Recipes, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

