Today, I Deserved Chocolate. And I Got it from a Vending Machine.

Wednesday’s Workout: cycle – interval

Thursday’s Workout: CSI; cycle – strength

Let’s just go ahead and get this out of the way:  today has been hellacious.  Crazy busy at work.  Absolute insanity.  So, along about, oh…1:30 PM, I was having a chocolate ATTACK.  Often, there is chocolate available somewhere in a school…on a counselor’s desk, in a glass bowl in the front office…somewhere. Today, thanks to my super-healthy and motivated middle school, the entire staff of which is participating in a weight loss challenge for the new year, there was no chocolate to be found.  I was seriously in crisis.  Has this ever happened to you????  So I broke down.  I went to the teacher workroom.  I approached the vending machine.  There, in all its glory, in a rack at the bottom left, was a bright, happy yellow package of Peanut M&Ms.  I inserted my change, hit the button, and watched in anticipation as the machine oh-so-generously dispensed said pack of M&Ms.  I grabbed it out of the bottom door, tore it open, and basked in the sweet, peanutty goodness.  I ate them all within the next two minutes.  And then I felt happy and satisfied and all the other endorphin-induced feelings that come with chocolate.  And it was good.  😳

Moving right along.  Let’s backtrack to yesterday morning and go from there for meals.

Breakfast was Shredded Wheat ‘n Bran with skim milk and fresh blueberries.  I really try to stick to bran when it comes to cereal, but I do occasionally mix up the way I’m getting it.  Flakes to shredded wheat squares.  It all works for me.  Bran is full of fiber which keeps you feeling full and keeps things, er, moving.  Very important.  😀

Mid-morning snack was a cup of Vanilla Chobani Greek Yogurt.  This is a good flavor but not as good as some of the fruit-on-the-bottom versions.  I totally had planned to add fresh fruit to this but ran out of time to cut it up.  It makes an appearance in today’s meals, see below.

Lunch was a salad with spinach, black beans, avocado, tomato, mung bean sprouts, and toasted pumpkin seeds, accompanied by manchego cheese and crackers.

These crackers, Milton’s Craft Bakers Everything Multi-Grain, are SO GOOD.  And don’t worry, I took the small wedge of cheese, not the big Pac Man.  😉

After work and before heading to cycle class, I snacked on these. They are certainly not the picture of health food but totally beat out Cheetos when you’re craving something crunchy and tasty.  They are baked, not fried, and are actual green peas.  At 150 calories/serving, I think they’re a perfectly acceptable snack.  And did I mention they are *delicious*?  You can find them in your produce section.  I buy the Caesar flavor but they also come in plain.

Dinner last night was homemade pizza.  We probably do this at least every other week.  Sometimes, if time allows, we’ll make our own dough, but last night we just used a refrigerated pre-made version.  Topped it with our homemade red sauce, Italian turkey sausage, arugula, fresh mushrooms, onion, garlic, and artichoke hearts.  Covered all of that with a healthy dose of mozzarella and a little Asiago.  Popped it in the oven for about 15 minutes then stuck it under the broiler for another minute to brown the cheese.  Pizza just might be my favorite food.

Breakfast this morning was a slight variation on yesterday’s:  I just added those fresh strawberries that I finally found time to chop up.

Cereal and fresh fruit is one of my all-time-favorite go-to breakfasts.  I get my calcium, protein, fiber, grains, and fruit all in one pretty little bowl.  🙂  And it’s quick.  Very important for my perpetually time-challenged self.

I didn’t even have time to realize I was hungry for a mid-morning snack, until it was lunchtime.  I had a slice of leftover pizza from last night accompanied by a small salad.  Spinach, tomato, avocado, and tomato again.  I just love this combo.

I guess my afternoon snack was the M&Ms.  😳  For what it’s worth, I will say I noticed that my workouts tonight felt unusually easy.  Maybe all that sugar and protein did the trick.  ?

Dinner was a quick, easy treat:

Sweet Potato “Fries” and a Boca Burger on an Earth Grains Thin Bun.  I topped the burgers with arugula, tomato, and onion.  This meal was so easy and fast.  Good thing, I was starving and Joe was on a late conference call.

Whew!  That was a lot of food re-capping!  Thanks for reading.

What do you do when you have a seemingly uncontrollable craving?  How do you feel when/if you give in to it?

 

 

This entry was posted in Cycling, Leftovers, Weight Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

