Friday Fun: Out and About in Asheville

Friday’s Workout:  REST DAY

Again, after a long week of work and gym visits, I always appreciate the freedom of Fridays.  I came home from work, relaxed for a bit, and then headed out to meet up with some friends for a fun evening out.

Rewind to the start of the day:

Breakfast was the last egg and the last Earth Grains Thin Bun.  I hate when we run out of food before the next shopping trip!  Looks like I need to do a post on menu planning to remind myself of its importance!  😳

And, just because I actually had time to drink my coffee before I left the house, out of a pretty mug instead of my ugly pink travel mug, I took a picture.  I just add about a teaspoon of sugar.  I used to use 1/2 and 1/2 but I realized it doesn’t really add that much flavor so I decided a while back to do without.  I haven’t really missed it.

Lunch was the last of the leftover stir fry, no need to picture it.  I heart leftovers!

After work, I met friends at one of my favorite places in Asheville, Sante.  This is a wine bar that also features local Highland beers, so everyone is happy.  I personally was there for the wine.  🙂  I got there a few minutes before 5:00 and was able to save the best seat in the house for our group:  two cozy couches and a couple of cushy chairs by the fireplace.  Sante is so nice on a cold, dreary, rainy day.  It really hit the spot.  Their menu also features “nibbles” such as meat and cheese plates and a wide variety of dips served with crackers and bread.

Thanks to our fabulous server for the wine recommendations and picture-taking skills!

Dinner found us around the corner from Sante at my MOST favorite Asheville restaurant:  Chorizo.  I seriously cannot say enough about how delicious this place is.  It’s Latin American fare at its best.  This is renowned Asheville Chef Hector Diaz’s third (or is it fourth?) restaurant project.  Always offering fresh, colorful ingredients and original preparations of both meat and vegetarian options, you just cannot beat it for a fairly priced, delicious, beautifully presented meal.  There, have I said enough?  😉  (And they’re not even paying me to do this.)  I had the Latin Quesadilla with slow-roasted coffee pork (above).

Joe had Malaga Paella, which was an adventure in seafood:  noodles, calamari, mussels, and shrimp, all in a saffron-orange broth.  We were, of course, thrilled with our selections.  As always.

And of course, there was a bottle of wine.  😉  What a great night out with friends!

We followed dinner with a trip to said friends’ house for some hot tub soaking.  I always feel so silly putting on a bathing suit with such a FOOD BABY but it was so worth it!  Thanks, Pam and Chris!

Looks like we have another nice weekend in store, and more fun plans to come.  I have tickets to the incredible Michael Jackson cover band “Who’s Bad” tonight, and we have plans to go watch the Super Bowl at some friends’ house tomorrow.  And yes, I do have some workout plans as well!  Look for my post tomorrow evening recapping the rest of the weekend!

How do you relax on the weekends?  And what are your plans for the Superbowl?

 

This entry was posted in Restaurants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

