Back to The Grind and Food Yumminess

Sunday’s WorkoutS:  run – 3.5 miles (oops, was just going for 3); cycle – interval

Monday’s Workout:  cycle – strength

Tuesday’s Workout:  run – 2.6 miles

For those of you that are wondering, I have made a miraculous return to routine.  😉  With a vengeance.  Sunday I got back in gear and ran a fast (for me!) just under 3.5 miles…I came in right around 30 minutes.  My handy-dandy pace calculator tells me that’s about a 8:49 pace…right under 9 minute miles.  Yay!  I will say that it was mostly downhill for half of the run – but that of course equates to mostly uphill on the return route.  I was so pumped from the run that I invited Joe to go to an afternoon cycle class with me…and he accepted!  😀  We went to Shannon’s cycle class and I think Joe finally “got it” as far as why I love cycling.  What a fun revelation to be a part of!  I hope he will choose to make it a regular part of his fitness routine….and maybe even road biking in the future.  I would SO love to have an activity that we both can enjoy together.  So important.

Yesterday’s cycle class was great, too, but I went solo.  Monday’s don’t usually work with Joe’s schedule.  It was a strength class and somehow I ended up on the instructor bike – i.e. in the front, facing the class.  No pressure!  🙂  I am sincerely grateful for the instructors at my gym and their willingness to give up their bike for a member.  But it’s tough to be out front – you definitely feel like you can’t slack.  I still loved every minute of the class and used my position to motivate myself.

Today I ran again, a shorter distance than Sunday per my training schedule, and again, I came in at a slightly faster pace than I’m used to.  Maybe some of that speed work is paying off!  It didn’t hurt that I had a new play list on my iPod and a cute doggie by my side.  I’m dog sitting for a friend tonight and her dog is a medium-sized, energetic, obedient boy, so I took him with me and he did great.  Yay Max!  🙂

So food over the last few days has also been kind of fun…

Dinner Sunday night was pan seared grouper with a home made rub (spicy, not sure exactly what was in it, I’ll have to get Joe to give me the secret recipe!), baked sweet potato for me, baked regular potato for him, crispy kale chips, and whole wheat bread.  Yes, I said “crispy kale chips”.

A better picture of the deliciousness.  We found ourselves with another pound of kale when we came home from the grocery on Sunday.  I had heard/read some folks talking about kale chips recently, so I Googled a recipe and here‘s what I came up with.  This recipe is right on – she outlines do’s and don’ts that I wouldn’t have thought of.  My final product was PERFECT.  I could have eaten the whole pound of kale this way, easily.  And, it’s fairly healthy but just as good as potato chips, seriously.  Try it!

Breakfast Monday morning was a grapefruit and an egg sandwich.  Fruit, carbs, protein.  Perfect.

Mid-morning snack/lunch was an apple and a salad.  In the salad bowl is spinach, cucumbers, carrots, onions, avocado, toasted pumpkin seeds, and Gorgonzola cheese.  Topped with home made balsamic.

Dinner last night was on my own and admittedly pretty uninspired:  Buitoni whole wheat 3-cheese tortellini, Italian turkey sausage, home made red sauce, and steamed kale.  Topped with a dusting of Parmesan cheese.  I just wanted something easy and simple.  I cooked the turkey sausage, then the pasta.  I threw the kale into the pasta pot for the last few minutes the pasta was cooking.  Drained it, and tossed with sausage and red sauce.  Pretty good and super easy.  Since I made Ellie Krieger’s Ravioli Toss, I have appreciated including greens in pasta dishes.  It’s an excellent way to get that all important iron and roughage in.

Breakfast this morning was a delicious fruit and yogurt bowl – fresh blueberries and 1/4 of an apple, topped with plain Greek yogurt, a handful of granola, and a drizzle of honey.  YUM.  This is such a good breakfast – the water in the fruit and the protein in the yogurt really team up well to combat hunger til lunchtime.

So lunch was not as colorful as I would have liked…kinda heavy on the green and orange.  But I’m out of red stuff…so it was carrots, cucumbers, mashed avocado, onion, and hummus on a Earth Grains Thin Bun.  I accompanied this with a small side serving of last night’s tortellini, unpictured.  Guess I got the red stuff in there, in the form of tomato!  😉

I was excited about dinner tonight.  So easy yet so fun!  I picked up a plantain last week at the grocery but have been waiting on it to ripen to perfection.  Tonight was the night.  I also had plans for some more of the kale that we got the other day…it all came together in a quesadilla with a side of plantains.  The quesadilla had mozzarella and a sprinkle of Gorgonzola, avocado, kale, black beans, and mashed sweet potato, topped with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream (I swear I was Latino in another life!).  I just boiled slices of the sweet potato for about 15 minutes, drained, added about a tablespoon of butter and a dash each of nutmeg and cinnamon, and mashed it all together.  Spread it on one half of the quesadilla along with the other ingredients, and sprinkled kosher salt and pepper on the whole shebang.  Done!  The recipe for the plantains is here.  I baked them as opposed to frying…not quite as delicious but still GREAT and much more healthy.

Tomorrow night brings another Survivor night…I will remember my camera to take pictures of all the delicious food that will no doubt be featured!  And I will NOT miss out on a bike for cycle class.  Thanks for reading!  By the way, comments are always welcome and encouraged….

Do you and your significant other work out together?  What kind of activities do you share?

 

This entry was posted in Cycling, Leftovers, Recipes, running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

