Potluck, Pilates, and Life-Changing Surgery

Wednesday’s Workout:  cycle – strength

Thursday’s Workouts:  Pilates; run 2 m

Thursdays are my day to work the late shift, meaning I don’t start work until noon.  I took advantage of my free morning by trying a new class at the gym – Pilates.  I am not new to Pilates; in fact, I went through a phase when I did it fairly regularly.  I enjoy it but I am very particular about who’s teaching it – the quality of the instructor can really make or break a Pilates class.  I haven’t had a whole lot of luck lately with feeling like the Pilates instructors I’ve had have really challenged me, so I was a little reluctant to go today but still wanted to give it a shot.  It was a good class – there was actually a sub in for the regular instructor and I do feel like I was challenged.  If you aren’t familiar with Pilates, it’s a core strengthening and toning class, used first by ballet dancers years ago.  It’s designed to lengthen and tone your muscles for that “lean ballerina look”.  I have definitely not ever achieved that look but it’s still a nice change of pace for a muscle toning/strength class.  😉  

After Pilates, I got in a quick 2 miles before I had to get home and get ready for work.

Food for the last 24 hours:

Breakfast yesterday was an unpictured bowl of shredded bran and fresh blueberries.

Snack was a small portion (less than one cup) of apple, plain yogurt, granola, and honey.

Lunch was left over quesadilla and plantains.

Dinner was a feast at Survivor Night…

…salad with greens, avocado, black beans, tomato, and corn kernels (someone after my own heart 🙂 )

…an Everything baguette from local bakery West End Bakery (my contribution)…

…cauliflower – and I must admit I’m not usually a fan but this recipe was great!  It had a lemony flavor but not overpowering.

…Mexican twice-baked potatoes….

…and our main dish, paella.  Two versions, veggie and turkey sausage.  Delicious!

Can’t forget the sweets…yummy brownies for dessert.  I think these were a light brownie, but I sure couldn’t tell!  They were so good.

Breakfast today was what’s becoming a regular in my repertoire:

Chopped apple, fresh blueberries, plain Greek yogurt, a handful of granola, and a drizzle of honey.  This is just so satisfying and so wonderful.  Love it.

The rest of the day’s meals are unpictured…leftover tortellini for lunch, and tuna sushi I picked up from Earth Fare on my way to my “night shift” for dinner.  I do so love sushi and I was excited to have an excuse to get some “to go” from the grocery.  It did not disappoint, though some of the students were completely grossed out.  🙂

SO – I have some big news:  Tomorrow I’m having surgery.  😯  It’s to patch a hole in my eardrum that has been keeping me from swimming with my head underwater for a few years now.  I am so excited at the possibility of swimming without having to worry about an ear infection!  This perforation in my eardrum is what kept me from training for a sprint triathlon last spring – I couldn’t do the swim part because NO pair of ear plugs worked for more than about four laps at keeping water sealed out.  I was so frustrated.  So I’m very hopeful that this surgery will be successful and I can make a second attempt at that goal this year.  It’s a pretty simple outpatient procedure, but I will be under general anesthesia.  I’m dreading the Dr’s orders that may include taking it easy for a couple of weeks following the surgery…I’m really hoping he doesn’t tell me I can’t run or bike.  Obviously I still won’t be able to swim for quite some time, maybe four to six more weeks, but that makes sense.  So cross your fingers for me!  Here’s to swimming like a normal person for the first time in years….

Have you ever had to deal with a major obstacle when trying to accomplish a goal?  What have you had to overcome and how did you do it?

This entry was posted in Cycling, running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Potluck, Pilates, and Life-Changing Surgery

  1. Pingback: Keeping Sane | Moderate Mountain Mama

  2. Jen says:

    Although the surgery is forcing you to lay low for a couple weeks, it sounds like it will totally pay off in the end. I’m excited for you that you want to train for a triathlon! Can’t wait to hear all about it once you’re back in the swing of swimming! 🙂

    Regarding instructors, I totally agree that they make or break a class. I am so picky about whose class I will attend!

Leave a Reply

