Working Through It…Acceptance and the Silver Lining that Comes with It

Tuesday’s Workout: walk with Sadie

Wednesday’s Workout: hike through the woods with Sadie and Joe

Today’s Workout: walk with Sadie

OK, OK, I’ve accepted my plight and have decided to embrace it.  🙂  Thanks to a friend with a fresh perspective, I was reminded that “working out” doesn’t always have to mean pushing myself to my outer reaches of exertion.  Just moving around can suffice.  After a very rainy, dreary Monday spent sitting inside, Tuesday brought sunshine and a desire to get outside.  It’s actually been kind of nice – I’ve found myself doing things that I love to do but usually don’t because I don’t feel they’re “enough of a workout”.  Do you do this?? As an example, walking Sadie is a pretty low-impact affair…she’s slow and goofy and takes her sweet time.  So I usually find myself skipping it or at least not spending much time doing it because I also have to “get my workout in”.  This week, it’s been great to just accept that as my workout and go with it, spending all the time I want because I’m not trying to rush off to the gym.  Yesterday afternoon was another example – I took Sadie and went to the disc golf course with Joe and just walked the holes with him as he played.  It’s a hilly course through the woods, so it was pretty much like light hiking.  It was so beautiful!  I don’t usually take the time to do that because, again, I’m so focused on “getting a good workout in”.  So I think I can accurately say that this forced slow-down has allowed me to find time to do other things that are still very fulfilling, even though they aren’t at my typical rate of exertion.

We’ve had a nice week of meals, too, since less time at the gym = more time to cook!

Dinner Monday night was out of Ellie Krieger’s So Easy cookbook: Pasta Primavera.  This dish was chock full of veggies and was very light – no cream or butter.  Joe brought home the rare treat of a loaf of Whole Foods Prairie Bread and we had a great meal.  And there may or may not have been the requisite glass of wine.  😉

Breakfast Tuesday morning found me craving more protein (I guess after Monday’s carb-heavy dinner), so I made myself an egg and cheese sandwich on an Arnold Naturals 100% Whole Wheat and Flax Seed Sandwich Thin.

Lunch was leftover pasta, unpictured, and 1/2 an apple with almond butter.

Dinner Tuesday night was another creation out of So Easy: Pork and Mango Stir Fry.  This was an excellent dish, again, just brimming with veggies.  I would make a change to the recipe:  it called for 3/4 pound of snow peas and only one mango – I would cut the snow peas down to maybe 1/2 lb and increase the mango.  I might have had a small-ish mango, which could have made a difference.  If you have a really large one, it might be enough.  I personally love mangoes and they continue to be on sale at our grocery, so I find myself looking for new ways to use them.

Breakfast yesterday was the last of the plain Greek yogurt with strawberries (again, on sale at the grocery, and I guess in-season in FL?  SO GOOD), granola, and honey.

Lunch was spinach, black beans, avocado, and flax seeds over a bed of brown rice (leftover from the stir fry).  Accompanied by another piece of that yummy Prairie Bread and 1/2 an apple.

Dinner last night was at a restaurant for our annual Survivor Party.  The food was honestly anti-climactic and therefore, unpictured.  We have learned the hard lesson that good food and a restaurant with a TV do not generally go hand-in-hand.  Oh well.  It was fun to be with everyone!  Ed Boudreaux’s specializes in bayou-style BBQ and other smoked meats, so I ordered the smoked chicken platter with sides of mac and cheese and green beans.  It was just sort of…meh.  Like I said, you either get a TV or delicious food…rarely both.  We were focused on the TV last night.  😉

The crew reacting to the end of the show…oh!  The Emotion!  I do have to momentarily showcase the seriousness with which we watch and wager on this show:

…Our draft picks, with odds.  (I have to credit our newest Survivor club members with the odds…Emily and Jason went where we’ve never gone before!  They make us proud! 😉 )  So Joe has already temporarily lost his pick – Russel was voted off last night.  But, he goes to Redemption Island, not home, so he has a second chance to return to the show.  And he promised to do so as he left Tribal Council….

Sorry.  I must include some occasional Survivor dorkery because it’s a big part of my life right now.  😳

I’m off to walk the puppy before I have to report to the “late shift” for work.  It’s a beautiful day – enjoy it!

What fun/important activities do you sometimes neglect in favor of working out?  Or do you avoid this somehow?  How do you fit it all in??

This entry was posted in Hiking, Recipes, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

