Excess Cornstarch, 10Ks, and Triathlons, Oh My!

Tuesday’s Workout:  run 3 miles (on treadmill – yuck)

Wednesday’s Workout:  cycle – interval

Feels so good to be back to the grind!  I hated to run on the treadmill Tuesday but I will just go ahead and say it:  I am a fair-weather runner.  I really only enjoy running when the sun is shining.  It can be cold, but if the sun is out, I’m happy.  Cloudy days make me less motivated to run in general.  Yesterday was both cloudy and cold.  Oh, and rainy.  No thanks.  I do always put the incline at 1% when I run on the treadmill.  This better simulates running outside.  If you don’t do this, the treadmill ends up doing way more work than you do.  The moving belt decreases resistance that would normally be there if you were on a sidewalk.  And it pulls your legs behind you, instead of you using your muscles to do the same thing when running outdoors.  No doubt about it, running on a treadmill is easier than running outside.  That said, I really struggled to complete my three miles yesterday.  I was slightly disheartened at how difficult it was.  My outside run tomorrow should be interesting.  I hear so many new runners talk about how much harder it was to run outside their first time off a treadmill that they actually didn’t do it again.  Get outside!  If it’s not cold and rainy, that is.  😉  I wish I was hard core enough to run through the rain, sleet, and snow.  I’m just not.

Speaking of running, the Bridge Run is two and a half weeks away!  I’m not sure I’m going to achieve my original goal of sub-9 minute miles…this break in running due to my surgery has really thrown my training schedule way off.  But that’s OK.  I will just go and do the best I can!  It’s such a fun race and I am happy to be doing it this year.  Really, the most fun is meeting up with friends and family at the rooftop bar afterward.  😉

In other fitness news, I attended the first YDub Tri Club meeting last week.  Next week I will begin training for the MedWest Sprint Triathlon, taking place on July 9, 2011.  I am so excited to have this opportunity!  I started training last year, but was duped by several obstacles:  no bike and a bum ear.  Both have been taken care of so I foresee nothing in my way this time around.  I will most definitely be keeping you posted on that process, especially once I start swimming (not until April due to recent ear surgery and heal time).

And now, to recap a few recent meals:

Breakfast yesterday was a bowl of shredded wheat and bran with fresh strawberries and 1% milk.  Someone recently commented on what a small amount of cereal that seems to be; these red bowls are very deep.  Also keep in mind that a serving size of cereal is typically 3/4 to 1 cup.  To stay within a reasonable calorie range, I stick to that.  A low-calorie cereal is typically 200 calories per serving.  Pour much more than a serving into your bowl and you’ve quickly got a 400+ calorie breakfast when you count the milk and whatever else you add in there.  Portion sizes are important!

Lunch was another random pantry grab, unpictured:  an apple with almond butter and a pineapple Chobani yogurt with granola.

Dinner last night was kind of anti-climactic.  I was so excited about this Caribbean Chicken recipe out of Harvest Eating.  Meh.  I have to say that this cookbook is either geared toward really experienced cooks that can interpret un-mentioned things in the recipes…or…the recipes just aren’t that great.  It’s a shame, because the book is beautiful and I love the concept.  For example, in this recipe, it tells you to add “a slurry of equal parts water and cornstarch” to thicken the sauce.  It does not give you any suggestions of how much of either.  I added too much and pretty much ruined the sauce.  It tasted like flour.  If any of you end up playing with it and get a happy result, please let me know! I will say that the accompanying black beans and rice that I threw together all by myself was a success.  Black beans, brown rice, cilantro, red pepper flakes, onion, and a dash of salt.

Breakfast this morning was another oatmeal concoction:  oats, Bob’s Red Mill 10-Grain Hot Cereal, 1/2 a banana, almond butter, berry preserves, cinnamon, and a pinch of salt.  It was really satisfying.

I snacked on a strawberry Chobani yogurt between breakfast and lunch.

Lunch was a salad with arugula, topped with leftover beans and rice and avocado.

Pre-workout I snacked on a few Multi-Grain Wheat Thins and about an ounce of Drunken Goat cheese.  I really love any kind of goat cheese and this variety is no exception.

Dinner tonight was on my own (no Survivor gathering :() so I kept it simple:  a Boca burger and roasted Brussels sprouts (recipe in sidebar).  They are always my substitute for french fries.  Roasted and salted, they are just as good!  And way better for you.

Well, that about does it for today.  I DVR’d Survivor so I could get this post up – it’s about time to pour myself the requisite glass of vino and go watch it!  Have a great night!

What fitness goals have you set for yourself recently?  Do you enjoy having an “event” to train for and motivate you?

 

This entry was posted in Cycling, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Excess Cornstarch, 10Ks, and Triathlons, Oh My!

  1. Jen says:

    Roasted brussels sprouts are my favorite! Yummmm….

    I guess the only “training” that I am doing now is to be a yoga teacher but I’m really missing running. After I complete my training I am going to set my sights on a half or full marathon!

  2. Pingback: Vacay! And, Good News!! | Moderate Mountain Mama

Leave a Reply

