Picky Running, Lack of Planning, and Being OK with it All

Thursday’s Workout:  run – 2 miles

Friday:  REST

Thursday’s run was quick and easy.  It’s my day to go in to work late, so I had the morning to squeeze it in.  It felt good to be outside in the sunshine!  And the temperature was perfect – about 50 degrees.  I really do prefer running when it’s cooler as opposed to warmer.  I tend to get hot really quickly and can’t stand running in temps much out of the 70s.  Can y’all tell I’m a picky runner?  🙂  I think the issue is that I don’t just *love* running.  I kind of have to make myself do it and really only do it for the Bridge Run every year.  That’s such a fun weekend and such a tradition that I can’t bear to miss it…but I’m not a runner at heart.  I’d love for that to change.  I have this big idea that I’d like to run a marathon or at least a half marathon one day…but then when I get right down to it, I think I just like the idea of it.  Don’t you have to really love running to be able to complete such endurance events??  Someone please weigh in on that.  I’d love to hear what my readers think about this concept.

Friday, as usual, was my rest day for the week.  It brought 80 degree temps and therefore, an afternoon at The Wedge with friends.

And dinner at a repeat of a favorite, Ritrovo Pizzeria.

I got there and immediately ordered the garlic bread appetizer.  I somehow had only managed to eat a banana with peanut butter for lunch and I was about to eat my arm.  Seriously, my blood sugar drops quickly and suddenly and if I don’t get food in my belly asap, look out!!  This was delicious – the basil in the marinara really made it.

Next, Joe and I split the Rustica salad with mixed field greens, pear, walnuts, Gorgonzola, lemon, and extra-virgin olive oil.  The salads there are perfect for sharing.

Next, we split the Salsicca pizza, with roasted red pepper & San Marzano tomato sauce, house-made fennel sausage, fresh Mozzarella, and shaved marinated fennel.  SO GOOD.  That sausage was to die for.

We also ended up with dessert (Oreo chocolate gelato) that I somehow missed pictures of.

The rest of the meals from the week are slightly boring.  It was another one of those weeks that I just had a lot on my plate (ha!) and just never really got into an inspired rhythm as far as lunches to work and meals cooked.  Also, Joe was out of town and I just tend to graze and not spend a lot of energy on food when that’s the case.

Breakfast Thursday was an old standby, egg and cheese on an Arnold Naturals Sandwich Thin.

I snacked on a handful of almonds and a few Multi-grain Wheat Thins to hold me until a late lunch.  I try to spread out my meals on my late workday.  Around 2:30 I ate an unpictured salad with arugula, black beans, avocado, and tuna, with a squeeze of lime juice and a drizzle of balsamic vinaigrette.  I just love a loaded salad.  One of my regular meals (and secrets to using leftovers) is just about anything over a bed of greens.  This is such a good way to get your greens in and it creates a much more filling salad than your typical chef’s salad.  Play with it – you really can put anything in a salad!

Dinner was on my own and late (8:30) due to my late work night, so I just threw together some black beans with garlic, onion, and red pepper flakes, added some cheddar, put it all in a skillet on top of a tortilla, and called it a quesadilla.  So quick and easy and it just really hit the spot.

Breakfast Friday was a bowl of oats with Bob’s Red Mill 10-Grain Hot Cereal (but not hot), 1/2 a banana, dash of salt, pinch of cinnamon, and a dollop each of home-made berry preserves and almond butter.

Aaaand lunch was almost non-existant – I only had time to grab another banana and the jar of almond butter as I was running out the door, so that was it.  I am very time-challenged in the mornings.  If I was so inclined, I’m sure I could plan things a little better and actually have time to make a lunch for myself…or…gasp!…I could make one the night before.  But, alas, I am not much of a planner.  You’ve seen how I agonize over menu planning. I definitely have my days when I really struggle to be the organized, on-top-of everything woman I’d like to be.  I think I have more of those days than days that I’m “on it”.  This bothered me for a second – then, I read a really interesting article in this month’s Women’s Health.  Read it for yourself here, but I’ll summarize:  it basically addresses the concept of “stress appeal”, which is this twisted belief that it’s good to have your plate too full and that you’re not doing enough if you don’t – and the fact that so many people feel actual pride over being in this constant state of multi-tasking.  I think I have found a good balance that keeps me from feeling that way, but the rest of the article hit home for me – this week I started to stress out about the fact that I’m not providing you with daily stellar meals and elite athlete-level workouts all the time…but then I read this article and realized that’s just not me.  I do what I can, and that’s enough.  It was a good reminder of my credo:  moderation.  And no, that’s not an “excuse to be lazy” about things.  (I recently read a blog that claimed that moderation was just that – a cop-out for doing anything 100%.  I won’t name it but let’s just say it’s not listed in my Blogroll.)  I love the way the article wraps up:  “Taking small steps toward whittling your to-do list can put you back in control of your life – a position that delivers just as much euphoria as a stress high.”

And with that, I’d like to wrap up myself.  It’s a beautiful Saturday and I have a run on my agenda.  We have dinner plans at a friend’s house tonight, and then hopefully a lazy Sunday tomorrow.  Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

How do you take care of yourself when you’re feeling overwhelmed?  Do you think you might be “addicted to stress”?

This entry was posted in Leftovers, Restaurants, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Picky Running, Lack of Planning, and Being OK with it All

  1. Jayna says:

    Yes, I totally agree with you about having to love running in order to keep it up. I wanted to be a runner until I actually tried it. I’ve run two 5K’s, both over a year ago, and I tried once more to train for a longer run- a half marathon. I gave up my training about 6 weeks in. I’ve accepted the fact that running is just not my thing. I wanted to love it, but it is not for me. I love a good short jog on a perfect day, or a run on the treadmill when I’m in the mood, but I’ll take yoga or weightlifting every time over running for exercise.

Leave a Reply

