Lotsa’ Arm Twistin’ Goin’ On…Plus, Go Heels!

Saturday’s Workout:  run – 4.2 miles

Sunday’s Workout:  planned – cycle; actual – rest

Yesterday’s run was actually pretty good.  It was gorgeous outside, which definitely helped, and the temperature was comfortable bordering on warm.  Luckily there was a nice breeze blowing which kept things tolerable.  I wasn’t sure exactly how far I was running as I went – shooting for 3.5 – 4 miles, and I was pleasantly surprised when I clocked it at just over 4.  Granted, I wasn’t pushing myself at all speed-wise…I think I came in right at about a 10 minute mile, but that is fine with me.  I was just happy to have run that distance without any trouble after my two-week break.

Today I totally planned first on a long bike ride, then when the weather forecast looked iffy, at least a cycle class.  Neither happened.  My arm was twisted and I ended up watching basketball and having a couple of beers with Joe and some friends.  And then, it was further twisted to partake in this:

Half a chocolate coconut brownie and a (decaf!) mochacchino from the French Broad Chocolate Lounge.  If you have not been there, GO.  It’s been written up in many food magazines and has really exploded with popularity.  Not only do they offer exquisite house-made chocolate truffles and other sweet treats, they also serve a variety of cafe beverages as well as a wine menu.  What a concept.  It is inexplicably wonderful to step into the ambient brown and light blue lounge and sit and share such delicacies.  We do it maybe every other month.  Not a regular indulgence, which makes it that much better.

Backing up to Saturday’s meals:

Breakfast was oats, Bob’s Red Mill 10-Grain Hot Cereal, blueberries, 1/2 a banana, cinnamon, pinch of salt, a dollop of almond butter and a spoonful of berry preserves, with 1% milk.  I just love this fruity concoction and that it really holds me over until lunch…

..Which I kind of skipped…I fueled for my run with peanut butter and honey spread on a Sandwich Thin, but that was really it until dinner.  Which was fine, because dinner was a delight!  We went to our friends’ for dinner and had a feast.

We started off with a delicious salad with spinach, goat cheese, dried cranberries, and candied pecans (from Georgia, no less!).

Then moved on to kabobs, featuring red bell peppers, onion, pineapple, mushrooms, and either chicken or shrimp.  All grilled to perfection and dressed in a delicious Coconut Marinade that was so full of ingredients I can’t even begin to list them.  Hoping to get the recipe and post it here soon (hint, hint Pam 🙂 – got it, thanks!  Readers, check out links!).

All served over a bed of coconut rice.  My plate.  Yum!  But this was not all…

Between courses, we relaxed around the HUGE bonfire in the back yard…see Pam in pic for size reference…this was shortly after tossing on a dried up Christmas tree.  It did not burn that big the whole time.  After we had relaxed and allowed our bellies to digest some of the meal we had just consumed, this appeared:

Another version of Southern Living’s buttermilk pound cake, this one with Custard Sauce.  I have now had this cake two weekends in a row, two different versions.  And they were both delicious.  I’m a lucky Southern girl!

Breakfast this morning took us back to our traditional Sunday morning meal:

Omelets a la Joe.  🙂  I love when he cooks breakfast.  This omelet featured arugula, black beans, onion, bell pepper, mushrooms, and cheese.  Washed it down with a glass of OJ and a coffee.

Lunch today…eh…definitely not the epitome of “healthy living”.  We shared a couple of appetizers with our beers as we were watching the Carolina game:  chicken wings and single pork ribs in the most amazing balsamic reduction/teryaki sauce ever.  We went back to what’s quickly becoming my favorite neighborhood bar, The Village Wayside.

Dinner was a long-awaited experiment with a recipe out of Jean-Georges Cooking at Home with a 4-Star Chef.  Last week I had earmarked the Scallops and Cauliflower in a Raisin-Caper Sauce as a recipe to try; Joe picked up sea bass at the grocery last week.  So we he subbed in the fish for the scallops and made the dish.  It turned out great.  I think the rich, buttery flavor of the sea bass is similar enough to the flavor of scallops that it just worked.

Accompanied by a salad with arugula, blueberries, gorganzola, and toasted pumpkin seeds.  I had originally planned to use strawberries but when I dug them out of the fruit drawer in the fridge, it was clear they had seen better days.  Note to self: get more at the grocery.

What a great weekend!  And the Heels pulled it out, to top everything off.  Nice, HEELS!!

Time to head off to bed…I have a crazy week ahead.  I will do my best to stay current with the blog but I really do have a lot going on.  It’s another one of those weeks with something going on almost every night.  One of which includes my hosting Book Club – look for that post this week!

Are you a fan of March Madness?  Who’s your team?

This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lotsa’ Arm Twistin’ Goin’ On…Plus, Go Heels!

  1. Jen says:

    I love French Broad…such an amazing concept. Pretty much my dream come true!

Leave a Reply

