Vacay! And, Good News!!

Friday – REST (and drive to the beach!!)

Saturday – run 4 – 4.5 miles

Sunday – bike ride on the beach – 7 miles? last 1/2 was sprinting to beat the storm rolling in 🙂

Monday – cycle – interval

The weekend just flew by!!  Time flies when you’re having fun!  We had the best trip to the beach – the weather was sunny and almost 80 degrees on Saturday, and Sunday was cloudy but still fairly warm.

My run Saturday morning was just blissful.  I headed up the road the house was on until it dead-ended, hopped on the beach, ran down to the pier, and then back up the road to the same point I got on the beach before, and ran the beach for a final stretch back to the house.  SO NICE.  It makes me happy to run in new surroundings – it really takes the monotony out of the regular routine.  And did I mention the weather was perfect??  Less than a week and I’ll be back to run the Bridge!  🙂

We had some great meals while we were there.

Friday night we ate at Taco Boy.  It’s a Mexican Cantina-style restaurant with super-fresh, delicious concoctions.  This is the salsa sampler.  My grilled fish and sauteed shrimp taco dinner is unpictured – I was too busy being disappointed in how small the tacos were.  They tasted delicious but were just plain skimpy.  Taco Boy, what’s up??  I left still hungry, which never happens at a Mexican restaurant!

We still had fun.  The mojitos saved the day.  😉

Saturday morning I fueled for my run with 1/2 a banana, then came back and had the rest of it and a fig bran muffin along with coffee for breakfast.

We all brought groceries to share, so lunch was on the deck at the beach house Saturday afternoon.  Poor us.  🙂  I fixed myself a salad with mixed greens, strawberries, tomatoes, and avocado with Annie’s Goddess DressingKashi TLC Fire Roasted Veggie Crackers and Cabot cheese on the side.

Dinner Saturday night was an exception to end all exceptions:  we knowingly decided to eat at a restaurant whose menu was comprised almost entirely of fried seafood.  This is normally not the kind of dining I choose for myself, but this place has won awards and has been written up in several magazines.  Bowen’s Island Restaurant is a tucked away, hidden gem of a dive of Low Country authenticity.  It is known mostly for its oysters, but has other menu items to choose from if oysters aren’t your thing.  Which they are not (mine – I like to shuck them but not eat them).

My plate:  fried whiting, boiled shrimp (they normally came fried but I requested boiled – my futile attempt at having at least one thing that wasn’t fried on my plate), hushpuppies, french fries, slaw, and a crab cake.  I can’t lie:  my stomach hurt all night long after this meal.  But it was good going down with a cold beer!  😉

My girl Kerry took full advantage of the house specialty – steamed oysters.  These are steamed over fire pits down below the restaurant and are shoveled onto old cafeteria trays for serving.  Awesome.  Truly a unique, authentic dining experience.  And did I mention the view??

Gorgeously serene.  The mountains are beautiful but this runs a close second in my heart.

We woke up Sunday morning to a cloudy day but the rain held off.  Breakfast was a bowl of fruit and yogurt with honey and granola, and a fig bran muffin.  Then I got in a good, heart-rate elevating bike ride to work off some of that fried food from the night before.  😳

And then, it was time to say goodbye to the coast.  We stopped and ate an unpictured lunch at Fleet Landing before we hit the road back to the hills.

Finally, I have some great news to share:  I was cleared today by the Doc to start swimming!!!  He says my eardrum has healed “perfectly” and that I should be good to go.  No diving right now and I have to go back to see him in eight weeks.  But I’m ecstatic to be able to return to my regular weight training routine along with beginning the start of my swimming training for the triathlon.  It was apparent this weekend at the beach that I had not been weight training for quite some time.  😳  SO ready to be back at it!!

Well, with that, it’s time for me to hit the sack.  I am absolutely exhausted – I didn’t sleep very well the last two nights.  I’m hoping to “catch up” tonight.  Have a great beginning of the week and thanks for reading!

What kind of food exceptions do you make when you’re on vacation?  Are you going anywhere fun in the next month?

This entry was posted in Cycling, Restaurants, running, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vacay! And, Good News!!

  1. Jen says:

    Somehow we have never made it to Bowen’s Island despite our time living in Charleston and all of our visits back. We are huge oyster lovers too!

    Totally jealous of your beach run and that you’ll be back in Charleston again for the bridge run. Good luck!

    And woohoo on triathlon training! Excited for you!

  2. Pingback: Elated! And Sore… | Moderate Mountain Mama

Leave a Reply

