Elated! And Sore…

Tuesday Workout:  run – 2.4 miles, CSI (back to weight training – yahhooo!  and, I’M SORE)

Wednesday Workout:  cycle – endurance

Thursday Workout:  SWIM!!! 25 minutes

I cannot begin to describe the feelings of elation I experienced this morning as I chugged down the lap lane!  Without having to stop every few yards to adjust a leaking ear plug!  Without an ear plug at all!!  I swam for a full 25 minutes (no, not without hanging on the wall at each end a few times :oops:) without the frustration of constantly worrying about keeping water out of my ear.  It. was. awesome.  I finally feel like I am training for a triathlon.  Granted, I was gasping for air after the first two laps, and it will be like that for some time.  I haven’t been able to really swim for years, and my body and lungs will need to adjust and re-acclimate.  But I know they will.  I had a brief conversation in the locker room afterward with a sweet little (tiny!!!) old lady who was also in the pool as I was.  She was probably over 70 and she probably swam for an hour.  I said “Good morning” and she replied, “It’s always good after swimming.”  I agreed and shared with her that this was my first time back in the lap lanes in quite some time and that my body was wondering what I just did to it, and she laughed and told me that I would get used to it.  She echoed my questioning what I did to my body with the statement, “Yes, I still get in and the first few laps feel like nothing’s working right, but then I settle in and everything just flows.”  Very encouraging and inspiring words from a 70 year old swimming veteran to a 30-something whippersnapper.  🙂  I will carry them with me each time I get in the pool over these next few months.  I will continue to share my swimming progress here – it should be interesting!  Stay tuned!

And now for a few meal recaps from this week:

Breakfast Tuesday was an unremarkable (and unpictured) egg and cheese sandwich.

Lunch was a sandwich with baby greens, provolone, red peppers, sprouts, mashed avocado, and hummus, on Wildflower Bakery‘s Dakota Seed bread.

Dinner Tuesday night was another creation by Joe – Seared Ahi Tuna with roasted carrots and Brussels and brown basmati rice.  I love it when Joe’s in town.  🙂  I am so lucky to have a husband who’s such a good cook!

Breakfast Wednesday was a bowl of fresh strawberries, blueberries, and granola with plain Greek yogurt and honey, accompanied by the last fig bran muffin (recipe in side bar) from the batch I made for the beach trip this past weekend.  And yes, that is melted butter you see on that muffin.  😉

Lunch was a salad with mixed greens, tomato, avocado, red pepper, brown rice, and leftovers off a rotisserie chicken we picked up for dinner Monday night in a crunch.  I love rotisserie chickens – they end up feeding us for days and they are so delicious and flavorful.  They also happen to be a great source of lean protein since they aren’t fried or otherwise “fattened up” with any sauces or other heavy ingredients.

Last night was our night to host Survivor Dinner Club.  We had quite the feast.  Joe prepared a nice, light pasta primavera with broccoli, asparagus, mushrooms, squash, zucchini, carrots, and onions.

Others contributed as follows:

Kerry and Rob’s famous spinach balls….

…a yummy bread…

…creamy Italian greens…

…and the moistest, chewiest brownies with strawberries I’ve had in quite a while.  Strawberries are on everyone’s favorites list right now – they were also in the unpictured spinach salad.  Quite a feast!  I am always so thankful to my friends that put so much time and energy into the food they prepare for our gatherings.  Such a treat.

Finally, breakfast this morning was a pre-swim banana, followed by a post-swim egg sandwich with OJ and coffee.  I love my relaxing Thursday mornings!

I also must add how nice it feels to have my workout completed for the day.  If I didn’t normally have to be at work so early, I could totally become a morning workout person.  As it is, I’m going to have to swim one morning a week super-early (like, 5:30 AM!!), but I think I’m going to be able to work it out so that my other swim days aren’t that way.

Well, that about wraps it up.  I need to go get ready for work.  When I come home tonight, I’ll be packing for my weekend in Charleston at the Bridge Run!!  Hope to be back ‘atcha at some point over the weekend to let you know how it went.  Have a great weekend!

Are any of you running in the Bridge Run this weekend?  Good luck if so!

 

This entry was posted in Cycling, running, swimming, Weight Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Elated! And Sore…

  1. Jen says:

    I have my LAST weekend of teacher training so no Bridge Run for me. I definitely want to do it next year though!

    Congratulations on your swim. I can only imagine how good it must have felt to be back in the water and comfortable. I used to swim all the time but I’ve gotten away from it the last few years. Maybe I need to get back in the pool this summer!

Leave a Reply

