‘Twas a Breeze.

Friday Workout:  REST – drive to Charleston!

Saturday Workout:  run – 6.2 miles @ Cooper River Bridge Run

Sunday Workout:  REST/recover/sit on beach

Monday Workout:  cycle – strength

Well, I did it!  The Cooper River Bridge Run this year was actually remarkably easy, especially given the lack of training I had leading up to it.  I guess I had myself psyched for a difficult run due to lack of preparation, so I was pleasantly surprised when my effort felt fairly minimal.  The weather was *perfect* and the run was awesome.  That said, my time, while better than in years past, was frustrating.  They did this new “wave start” that had us starting in three-minute increments depending on what we put down for our expected finish time.  I don’t know if the people in my wave just lied about their expectations or if they truly did not know, but I passed way more people than passed me.  Unfortunately, the passing was slow and tedious, and it definitely slowed me down.  There was such a bottleneck as we started up the incline of the bridge that I was able to chat effortlessly with a couple of guys behind me about how badly this sucked. And I wasn’t referring to the hill.  We were just shoulder to shoulder as the less-prepared runners slowed to what felt like a near halt as the terrain changed from flat to incline.  I honestly know that if it weren’t for the crowd, my pace could have easily been sub-9 minute. It’s never been a fast race but this year seemed worse than usual.  Anyway, my pace ended up being 9:28 for a final time of 58:46.  I was also interested to see my stats as compared to others:  I came in 9553 out of 34, 771 finishers…3414 out of 20, 531 females…and 529 out of 2913 women in my age group.  When I think about the fact that if I had been able to increase my pace by another 30 seconds per mile I would have achieved my goal of sub-9 minute miles, I want to kick all the people that slowed me down!  😡

Oh well.  Next year I’ll know better than to line up at the back of my “wave”.  Hrmph.

I honestly don’t have any food pictures for you.  I was just too keyed up to remember to take pictures of my food all weekend.  Meals both nights were home cooked and delicious.  Friday night we had Barefoot Contessa’s Herb Marinated Pork Tenderloin with roasted broccoli and carrots and baked potatoes.  It’s been so long since I had a regular baked potato and I was happy for the excuse to carb-load!  😉  Saturday morning I fueled for the run with a bagel and a banana.  Lunch was a crab cake sandwich at Southend Brewery in downtown Charleston.  It was your typical pub fare but good.  Saturday night we went to my Aunt and Uncle’s and we had another Barefoot Contessa favorite, Turkey Lasagna. Also delish.  Very cheesy and rich – the turkey sausage really balanced out what could have been an overly rich lasagna had the meat been beef or pork.  Sunday morning we were treated to home-made cinnamon raisin rolls, a la Ree Drummond, aka The Pioneer Woman.  If you haven’t checked out her blog on my Blogroll to the right, you must!  She is truly Superwoman.

And that pretty much sums up the weekend.  There were of course the few obligatory adult beverages following the run on Saturday…  😉

…and some beach time on Sunday.

Followed by a long, sad drive home.  😦  Must we always leave???

Up and at ’em tomorrow morning for my first uber early swim.  I’ll let y’all know how that goes. Have a great week!

Those of you that ran the Bridge Run this weekend, what did you think of the new start?  Were you frustrated with your time or did you just go with it and enjoy the run (which, by the way, I did!)?

This entry was posted in Restaurants, running, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Twas a Breeze.

  1. michelle kaiser says:

    Hey Kathryn-

    Nice to meet you the other weekend. Look, I found your blog!
    Here is the website for my friend Caryn, the nutritional counselor and food blogger near NYC. http://appetitesforlife.wordpress.com/
    She is also on Facebook.
    Also, I tried a recipe tonight you might enjoy (I replaced the blueberries with a mixed variety or ogranic berries that were frozen): http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/blueberry_maple_muffins.html
    I am thinking the oil might be able to be replaced by applesauce too. I also did not grind the flaxseeds and used more wheat then white flour.

    • Kat says:

      Hey Michelle,
      Glad you found the blog!
      So sorry I’m just getting back to you but I wanted to thank you for the link to your friend’s blog! I spent a few minutes looking over it and can see that it will be one that I follow regularly. And thanks for the muffin recipe! I will have to give that a try – blueberry season is not too far away!
      Take care,
      Kat

Leave a Reply

