Mountains, Beaches, and Lots of Maxin’ and Relaxin’

Monday’s Workouts:  cycle – interval; P90X – chest and back, abs

Tuesday’s Workouts:  swim – 30 minutes; cycle – strength; P90X – Plyometrics

You may or may not have noticed a couple of things:  1.  I’ve been MIA for about two weeks.  2.  I have added P90X to my training.

Let’s first address the former.  I work in the schools, so I had “Spring Break” last week.  I left on Friday the 8th and didn’t return until this past Sunday evening.  We went to Fort Collins, Colorado to visit some dear friends for the first half of our vacation.  There, we did lots of eating out and hiking in the beautiful surroundings.

On the way up to Arthur’s Rock in Lory State Park just outside of Fort Collins.

Horsetooth Reservoir and Fort Collins viewed from Arthur’s Rock.  It was a great hike with some nice elevation change that got us huffing and puffing – just my style!  🙂

We also visited Rocky Mountain National Park one day and did another great hike there.  That is snow we are standing on.  The majority of our 8 mile hike was on top of about 3 feet of packed snow.  It made for tough footing and lots of extra work for our stabilizer muscles!  We stayed warm despite 40 degree temps and 8000+ feet of elevation.

We also ate and ate and ate.  I did not have my camera with me for any meals…bad blogger!  😳  Our favorite meal was easily the last night we were there at a place called Cafe Vino.  Joe and I ordered a couple of things off their tapas menu to share – Bacon Wrapped Dates and Goat Cheese Stuffed Peppadews.  Then we split the Seared Yellowfin Salad and the Wild Mushroom Spinach Pizza.  I’m happy to say that we did not finish the pizza!  It was all delicious but was so much food!

After we said our goodbyes to our dear hosts, we hopped on a plane and headed back east for the second leg of our trip to….Folly Beach, SC.  Surprise, surprise.  I just can’t get enough of that place!

We were treated to beautiful sunsets and almost deserted beaches each night.

We made up for all of our eating out in Fort Collins with mostly home-cooked meals for our beach stay.  As soon as we got onto the island, we stopped at Crosby Fish and Shrimp and picked up a couple nights’ worth of fresh fish – snapper and flounder.  We grilled the fish both nights and added sides of asparagus one night and yellow squash the otherEverything was so fresh and delicious.  Breakfast was egg sandwiches and fresh fruit each morning, and we made turkey sandwiches for lunch.  We snacked on carrots and hummus and cheese and crackers.  As much as we enjoy eating out, it was a nice change of pace from the restaurant food we ate in Colorado.  I always appreciate fixing my own food – that way I know exactly what’s in it and can keep it healthy. 

I ran on the beach two mornings.  I think I knocked out about four miles each time.  It is so great running on the beach…it’s flat and the scenery can’t be beat!  🙂

Although I did squeeze in some exercise over this vacation, I definitely didn’t stick to my triathlon training.  So now that I’m back, I’m hitting it hard!  Additionally, I acquired P90X over my break and have added that to my repertoire.  I have done two days of it so far and it is TOUGH!  Somehow I thought it would be a good idea to cycle and do plyometrics on the same day, one right after the other.  My legs are pretty much shot right nowBut I feel like it will whip me back into shape quickly.  I can’t lie, as I’ve pulled out my spring wardrobe from last year, I have noticed that clothes are a little tighter than they were before.  Time to take care of that winter layer.  😉  So far I’m enjoying the challenge and can’t wait to see results.  I may or may not post “before and after” pics when it’s all said and done.  We’ll see.  Stay tuned for my experience and progress on that as well as my continued triathlon training!

Well, apologies for lack of food pics and for the extended hiatus.  Life has just become extremely busy lately.  I have been out of town for the last four weekends plus a full week.  I still haven’t folded and put away the laundry from the trip.  I guess I can be glad that I’ve at least washed clothes!?  I am actually looking forward to being at home this weekend to just catch up on life.

I leave you with this parting shot:

Relax.  Watch the waves.  Feel the breeze.  Let your ears blow around a little.  It’s a good day.  🙂

Have a great week!  Will be back at’cha sooner than later, I promise! 

Are you lucky enough to have taken a trip recently?  Where did you go?  How do you maintain your exercise routine when on vacation?

This entry was posted in Hiking, running, swimming, Weight Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

