Pool Love

Wednesday’s Workouts – cycle; swim 35 min.

Thursday’s Workouts – run 3m; swim 30 min.

Friday – REST

Wednesday’s swim was great.  It was immediately following a cycle class during which I sweated tons and it felt so great to jump in the pool afterward.  It was one of those swims where I felt like I could just swim forever.  Thursday’s morning swim was a little different – I ran to the gym and then got in the water and between Wednesday night’s swim and the run there, I wasn’t feeling quite as strong.  I still pushed through and managed 30 full minutes with an IM (individual medley – a lap each of fly, back, breast, free) to finish.  I can really gauge my endurance with an IM…when I first returned to the water, I could barely get down the lane one time doing butterfly.  Now I can complete a lap and then follow it immediately with three more with a good effort.  Still a long way from my competition days but feeling stronger each time.  🙂

The run to the gym was for two reasons:  first, I need to be running more.  Second, this week was the YWCA’s “Strive Not to Drive” week, and I was determined not to drive the less-than-two-miles to the gym from my house.  So I strapped on my Camelback full of my swim gear and heel-toed it down the road.

Kind of funny.  But it was a beautiful morning and I was so glad I did it!

On to some recent eats:

Breakfast Wednesday morning was a bowl of Kashi with fresh blueberries and almond milk.

Lunch was a small salad with spinach, avocado, tomatoes, onions, and cashews, along with another serving of leftover chana masala (unpictured).  I snacked on 1/2 a banana mid-morning.

My handy-dandy lunch box.  This thing saves me every day!  I never have to buy lunch or live out of vending machines.  Packing my own lunch ensures that I’m not impulse eating and/or consuming way more calories than I planned on.  Not to mention the fact that it saves tons of money and utilizes leftovers!

Dinner Wednesday night, thanks to my talented griller hubby, was a grilled bone-in pork chop rubbed with olive oil, sage, kosher salt, and pepper.  Accompanied by grilled summer squash and zuchini, also seasoned with olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Simple = good.

Breakfast yesterday morning was whole grain oats, Bob’s Red Mill 10-Grain Hot Cereal, dried cranberries, fresh blueberries, a pinch of salt, a dash of cinnamon, almond butter, and almond milk.  I was turned on to different versions of this combination by Jen, a fellow food and healthy living blogger.  Thanks, Jen!  Oatmeal will never be the same.  😉

Lunch was – you guessed it – more leftover chana masala.  The recipe made a LOT.  I think we finally finished it off today.  😳

Dinner last night was roast chicken, steamed kale, and shitake mushrooms sauteed with onions.  I prepped the chicken before I left for work with just a little olive oil, salt and pepper, stuffed with a lemon and a head of garlic.  I stored it in the fridge covered with tin foil and Joe popped it in the oven while I was at work (Thurdays are my late night).  He prepared the mushrooms and kale himself.  I don’t know what he did to them but it was all delicious!

Today has been a little all over the map with food – lunch was leftovers from an academic banquet at the school last night, and I honestly only had time to eat a few bites of the green beans, rice, and bread.  Dinner was out with some friends at a new California/Mexican restaurant by the name of Que Pasa, and I ordered grilled fish and grilled shrimp tacos a la carte.  We also could not resist the made-at-your-table guacamole.

In early and headed to bed soon – I have a busy day planned tomorrow.  Stay tuned for updates on the rest of the weekend’s training and eats!  Thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in Cycling, Leftovers, Restaurants, running, swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

