Fear. I Pretty Much Told It to Kiss My Ass. ;)

Saturday’s Workouts – swim 600 meters(?);  cycle 3o miles

I had a pretty intense Saturday.  I had planned to participate in an open water swim sponsored by the YWCA Tri Club.  I assumed that there would be many people there like me, who had never participated in a triathlon, and therefore that the swim would be short and beginner-friendly.  I arrived to find that not only were there very few participants (perhaps due to the high temps being in the 50s all week and the water temperature in the 60s), but that I was the only one there who had never participated in a triathlon.  Then I learned that the swim was to be a 1/2 mile, or 750 meters (gulp).  I seriously had a moment of near-panic.  As I looked out across the (very cold) lake, and visualized the route as our fearless leader was pointing it out, I had thoughts of having to stop in the middle of the lake and summon the lifeguard to save me.  The part of me that is afraid to push myself beyond my comfort zone said, “Don’t do this.  You will be embarrassed and humiliated because you will fail.”  As we continued to discuss the route and various pointers for successful open water swims, my self doubt grew.  Had I gotten myself in over my head (no pun intended)?  As I put my toes in the water and gasped with the realization of how chilly it was, I wondered if I was going to be able to breathe – I had heard horror stories of cold water causing the most experienced swimmers to be unable to breathe and have to abort their effort.  The route looked so long and so far away!  Finally, we all shuffled in and I felt my feet leave the slimy lake floor.  I put one arm in front of the other and forced myself to stroke, kick, breathe.  As I came up for my first breath, and sighted our trainer in front of me leading the way, I realized that I was keeping up with minimal effort.  This continued for a few more minutes and then I realized that I was fine.  I was going to do this without a problem.  I settled into my stroke and continued to just follow the leader, without any further thoughts or stress.  It was almost automatic.  Before I knew it, we were two thirds of the way through and plowing toward shore.  As I saw the lake floor rise up underneath me indicating my arrival on shore, I could not believe how…dare I say it?  …easy it was.  Granted, I learned afterward that we didn’t quite stick to the route of 750 meters, but did more like around 600.  Still.  Way more than I had planned on doing and I was successful!  My heart was soaring as I realized that I had taken a leap of faith and had completed what I wasn’t certain I was going to be able to complete.  More and more, as I move through this experience of training and fitness in general, I am learning that I am capable of way more than I have ever given myself credit for.  I am learning the importance of mind over matter, and that my mind is the only thing that can stop me.  For a long time in my life, I have been afraid to push myself, for “fear of failure”.  That old perfectionist conundrum.  I am learning to ignore that little voice in my head that says, “You might fail.  Don’t even try.”   Instead, I am learning to listen to the voice that says, “What have you got to lose?  Give it a shot, you might surprise yourself!”  I hope that some of you are able to read this and begin to believe that you, too, can do things you never thought you could.  Go ahead and try something you’ve been wanting to try for a long time.  I bet you will surprise yourself with your success.  And if not – “better to have tried and failed than to never have tried at all”.  (Who said that?)     

Then I went and rode my bike for another unplanned amount of time – three hours.  I was beyond exhausted by the time it was all said and done.  But it was a happy exhausted.  🙂

OK.  Enough of the serious.  I ate like a starving athlete all weekend, and here’s a recap:  😉

Fuel for the swim Saturday morning – spinach, egg, and cheese sandwich and a cup o’ java.  Way before I had to swim (more than the requisite hour).

Following my swim and before my bike ride, I finished off the leftovers from Friday night’s dinner of fish and shrimp tacos.  I heart leftovers.  🙂

After my bike ride, we ventured out to a wine tasting with some friends and then headed over to a wine bar and had a glass or two on the patio outside.  It was a lovely way to wind down the day.  I was so tired from my activities that we declined staying out for the evening and instead went home to whip up some dinner.

I made two individual pizzas out of store-bought whole wheat naan.  Topped with home made tomato sauce, artichoke hearts, red bell pepper, onion, spinach, and mozzarella.  This was so quick and easy – the whole operation took less than 20 minutes, including cook time.

I then promptly crashed, sitting up, on the couch.  Once I moved into an actual bed, I slept like a baby.

Splurged on breakfast this morning with real bacon and real English muffin sandwiches.  I also made some smoothies (frozen blueberries, mango, peach, strawberries, protein powder, and almond milk) that we ended up putting back in the fridge because we were so full.  They later became lunch.  😉

As evening approached and we began to discuss the dinner menu, we popped open a bottle of Proseco that had been chilling in the fridge all weekend.  Love this special, sparkly, refreshing rare treat.

I had picked up some fresh corn at the Farmer’s market last week, so we grilled it in its husks along with some salmon I got at the grocery.  Find details on how to grill corn in its  husks here.

Joe prepared a dijon cream sauce to top the salmon, and I made a quick batch of cous cous to squeeze in our whole grains for the meal.  Needless to say, it was all delicous.

Well, it’s way past my bedtime and I’m going to call it a night.  Thanks for reading!  Have a great week.

When have you pushed yourself beyond your comfort zone?  If you haven’t, what’s stopping you?


This entry was posted in Cycling, swimming and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fear. I Pretty Much Told It to Kiss My Ass. ;)

  1. Melissa says:

    Love this Kat!! Definitely needed to read this today! Xoxo

  2. Jen says:

    kat – this is INCREDIBLE! i am so impressed that you stayed, braved the cold water and kicked ass!

    you are amazing!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

