Lube, Gears, and Flats, Oh My!

Sunday – REST

Monday’s Workout – cycle – endurance

Tuesday’s Workout – cycle – interval

After Saturday’s activities, I felt it was OK to take the day off on Sunday.  I burned 1200+ calories on my ride alone on Saturday so I did not feel guilty about missing a workout.  Monday and today have been pretty non-eventful.  My knee pain is subsiding and I continue to do some foam rolling when I’m at the gym.  I worked it out last night after cycle and it felt less sore/tight than it did last week.  Good news.

Tonight after cycle, I went to a “Bike Maintenance 101” class at one of the local bike shops, Youngblood Bicycles.  They are sponsoring the YWCA Tri Club and they are awesome!  I haven’t shared here on the blog that I battled with a flat a couple of weeks ago, had it repaired, pumped it up, and had another flat again immediately.  I am determined to know how to change a tire/tube with relative ease.  There were only three of us there and the small numbers kept it very helpful.  I successfully changed my tube twice and I think I have it.  My struggle was getting the tire back on after changing the tube – I got some good pointers and, while I’m sure I will continue to struggle, at least I was shown some good techniques for accomplishing this task without complete failure.  It’s all about the finesse.  😉

I am determined to run this week but with record highs tomorrow, it’s not looking good.  I will most likely squeeze a run in Thursday morning and maybe Friday, too.  I love the fact that it’s getting relatively light outside by 6 AM now.  At least I have a cool running option, even if I do have to get out of bed at the crack of dawn.

On to meals over the last couple of days…

Breakfast yesterday (and today) was a bowl of Kashi U.  This cereal is amazing.  The picture doesn’t do it justice – it’s full of currants, walnuts, and whole grain flakes.  It’s not cheap but if there’s only one person eating it, it’s justifiable.

Lunch was a smorgasbord of leftovers:  steamed kale, roast chicken, and brown basmati rice.  I just combined it all in one bowl and heated it up when it was time to eat, and it was really good!

I snacked on a Fage strawberry Greek yogurt with some granola.  I love the fact that Fage puts the fruit on the side so you can control the sweetness yourself.

Dinner was an al fresco treat – homemade eggplant parmesean and a salad.  Joe doesn’t typcially love eggplant but we breaded and sauteed it for this recipe and the whole thing was SO GOOD.  I won’t comment on the “healthiness” of the dish but it sure was delicious.  Part of that was because we used Joe’s homemade tomato sauce…and y’all are in for a treat, b/c he agreed to share it here.  Keep in mind that he is a true “cook” – he doesn’t really measure much of anything and does it all “to taste”.  So here is the gist of the recipe – feel free to play with it yourself!

1/4 c olive oil

2 28 oz cans tomato puree

1 28 oz can Chef’s cut tomatoes

1 small can tomato paste

1 onion, chopped

1 green bell pepper, chopped

12 – 15 cloves garlic, minced

small handful each of dried basil, oregano, parsley, thyme, fresh ground pepper

1/4 – 1/3 c dry red wine

salt to taste, at least 1 tbsp

Heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add onion, bell pepper, garlic, and herbs.  Saute a couple of minutes, til onion is soft.

Meanwhile, in separate pot, roast tomato paste in a little olive oil until fragrant.  Combine with spices and add wine.  Let cook down 10 minutes or so.  Add salt.  Add tomatoes and puree, stir well, cover, and simmer as long as possible, adding water as needed, stirring occasionally.

This makes enough sauce to put in the freezer for later use.  I separate it out into 1 c servings and use individual sandwich-size Ziploc bags to freeze.  Then you have delicious, homemade red sauce ready to grab whenever you need it.  Perfect!

Breakfast today was another bowl of Kashi U.  I won’t bore you with another picture.  Lunch was leftover eggplant parmesan and 1/2 an apple with almond butter.

Dinner was late and fast:  an Amy’s California veggie burger on an Arnold Sandwich Thin with a side salad comprised of spinach, purple cabbage, red onion, avocado, and pumpkin seeds.  I didn’t get back from the bike workshop until after 8 PM so I was ready for something quick and easy.  This definitely fit the bill.

It’s close to my bedtime so I’m going to call it a night.  Thanks for reading!  Come back to see more variety in my training – it’s been sort of a hum-drum week so far.  And stay tuned for weekend plans that include a change in locale for training!

This entry was posted in Cycling, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lube, Gears, and Flats, Oh My!

  1. Pingback: Six Al Fresco Meals and All Three Varieties of Activity | Moderate Mountain Mama

Leave a Reply

