Just. Not. Into It. An Off Day.

Wednesday’s Workouts – run – hardly; swim – 45 min

Thursday’s Workout – run – 3.5 miles (?)

Yesterday I really tried to run.  I really did.  But I really didn’t want to.  AT ALL.  I hemmed and hawed around the house after work debating between going to cycle and running.  I actually really didn’t want to do either.  It was just one of those off days that I didn’t feel like working out in any way.  Lounging around the house, reading, cooking/eating dinner before 9:00…all of that sounded wonderful.  And I almost just went with it.  But at the last minute, I laced up my running shoes and hit the road.  I ran for a grand total of…oh…10 minutes.  Around the block.  And I was done.  It didn’t help that yesterday’s high was record-setting and I was running around 6:00 PM, which isn’t much cooler than the high temp.  So I arrived back at the house, drenched, and decided the pool was a much better option (I had planned to do that anyway following whatever I chose to do prior).  So I went to the gym and swam for a good 45 minutes.  It felt great.  Then I came home and cooked dinner and ate at 9:00.  Oh well.

This morning, I kind of redeemed myself.  I got up and was determined to run in the cooler morning temps.  I fueled with a banana and a glass of water and hit the pavement.  I ran for about 40 minutes, which I’m guessing was a little under 4 miles at the slow pace I was maintaining.  It felt fine and I’m glad I did it.  But what is with me and running??  I really struggle with making myself try to like it.  Add to that the fact that I had to skip my usual Thursday morning swim in favor of a longer run and I downright resent it.  😡  Does anyone have any tips for enjoying running?? 

Enough whining training talk – here’s a quick recap of a few recent meals:

Breakfast was another bowl of Kashi U and almond milk, unpictured.

Lunch was more leftover eggplant parmesan and a small salad.  I snacked on apple slices and almond butter.  Pardon the less-than-aesthetically pleasing presentation but this is what portable lunches look like!  🙂

Dinner (at 9:00!) was a delicious new recipe that I had saved in my email from WebMD’s Daily Bites.  If you aren’t aware of this website, check it out! I get healthy recipes in my inbox regularly – it’s nice to have them given to you sometimes instead of searching and searching for new ideas…anyway, these Pesto-ricotta Portobella Burgers were awesome!  However, high-napkin-count alert – they were totally messy to eat.  I ended up scraping my plate with a fork to pick up the remains.   I did them in the oven as the recipe calls for but I bet they’d be great on the grill, too.

Aaand breakfast this morning – a nice way to beef up that last little bit of cereal remains in the bottom of the box.  You know, that amount that’s too much to add to the last bowl you ate to finish the box but not enough on it’s own for a full bowl of cereal (am I the only one that has this issue??)?  Anyway, instead of pouring milk/almond milk over it, add some Greek yogurt and fresh fruit.  It ups the protein and is much more filling.  And who doesn’t like a little crunch in their yogurt?  This was a satisfying, yummy breakfast.

And with that, I’m off to get ready for work.  Hope your day is great!  Thanks for reading!

Do you struggle regularly with some aspect of your workout?  How do you work through it? 

This entry was posted in running, swimming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just. Not. Into It. An Off Day.

  1. Laura says:

    Hi, I found your blog through peanut butter runner and was so excited to see a healthy living blog based out of Asheville, which is my new home. I moved here about 6 months ago and am loving it so far! I have decided that Asheville is too beautiful to work out indoors all the time, but I have never been much of a runner and to add to that I have found it difficult to run around here becuase of all hills…or make that mountains. So to work through my general dislike of running I registered for the 1/2 marathon in September. This is probably an extreme solution but it has inspired me to get running. I am always looking for new running paths.I would love to hear some routes that you like to run. Thanks!

    • Kat says:

      Hi Laura! Thanks for your comment! And welcome to Asheville! 🙂 Where did you move from? Good for you for registering for the 1/2…you are braver than I! I’ve been contemplating it for a while now but haven’t made the decision to do it b/c I just don’t love running and the idea of forcing myself to do it for an event isn’t quite appealing to me yet….that may change though, you may inspire me! 🙂 There are some great places to run around here…not sure if you’re into trail running or road running but there are a lot of each. Bent Creek is kind of the go-to trail running mecca. Tons of choices of trails to choose from. There’s Carrier Park, which is paved trails that run all along the riverfront through several park areas. There are a lot of paved paths around UNCA, too. There are also a couple of nice neighborhoods with sidewalks that are easy to navigate and close in to town – Kenilworth, Montford, North Asheville/Grove Park Inn areas. I actually live in Montford so that’s where I do most of my running right now. Maybe I’ll see ya out on the road one day! Thanks for reading!

  2. Jen says:

    kat – a couple things with the dislike of running. first, running just isn’t that enjoyable until you get over that first hump of being able to run a few miles without feeling like you’re going to die. second, running isn’t for everyone. that might not be what you want to hear but if you don’t love running, i wouldn’t stress. you are so active in other ways. for example, i really don’t love cycle. i tell myself all the time that i need to do it more often for cross training and get my certification because it’s a good thing to be able to teach…but then i think….i just don’t love it.

    i would just run when the urge hits and see where it takes you. maybe it will evolve, maybe not. i love that you got out there and tried to run and quit after 10 minutes. the hardest part is just getting out there. if you’re still not feeling it, you have every right to bag it!

    • Kat says:

      Thanks, Jen. Yes, you are not the first person to say that once one is able to run more than a few miles it gets better. Someone quoted me 10 miles as the magic number at which you begin to really love it. 😯 I’d like to at least get there and see…I guess if I can run that far and still don’t enjoy it, then maybe I can accept the other option, which is just that running isn’t for me. Growing up in a home where a parent was an avid runner makes it hard to accept that it’s “not for me”, but I guess it doesn’t necessarily run in the family. 😉 Thanks for your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

