Hot Hot Hot! Adjusting to Heat and a Changing Schedule

Tuesday’s Workout – cycle, strength

Wednesday’s Workouts – cycle, endurance; swim 30 minutes

Thursday’s Workout – run, 3.5 miles

This week I have really tried to balance my training amongst all three disciplines.  I still am definitely heavy on the cycling but at least I got in some running and swimming.  Again, I opted out of my swim this morning in favor of running, which I hated to do, but the pool is only available for lap swimming at certain times and I just can’t fit it all in on Thursday mornings.  My run today was challenging – it was very hot and humid even at 8:00 AM.  My goal for this summer is to try to move into morning workouts as a regular thing…and then to keep it up as work cranks back up in August (I am a school system employee).  I find that I really appreciate getting it out of the way…I just hate getting up so early – my days start earlier than the average 9 to 5 and it makes morning workouts tough.  But I think that if I can ease into it over the summer when I’m not having to get up at the crack of dawn to make it happen, I can make it a habit that I will be willing to adjust to as the start of the school year approaches.  We shall see.  😉

A quick summary of some recent eats:

I’m finally back to my Shredded Wheat ‘n Bran Squares after several mornings of egg, cheese, and spinach sandwiches and a couple of weeks of trying other cereals.  The others were delicious but I find that I really need my…er…fiber.  😉  Seriously, whole grains and fiber are so crucial to a healthy diet – I am so against these diets that rule out carbs completely.  Whole grain/brown/unprocessed grains are very important for a healthy digestive system and energy supply.

Dinner Tuesday night was a treat – we actually got into Doc Chey’s, one of the most popular restaurants in Asheville.  I don’t have pics but I ordered the Thai Red Curry dish and Joe got the Chinese Lomein.  We had not been to this restaurant in, literally, a couple of years, because the wait is always so insane.  I remembered from my restaurant working days that Tuesdays are traditionally the slowest night of the week so I figured we could give it a shot.  We were lucky!

Lunch Tuesday and Wednesday were different variations of this:  greens, black beans, and leftover fresh corn and basil salad.  I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again – there is no better way to use leftovers than just throwing them on some greens and calling it a salad!  You can do this with almost anything.  This one didn’t even need additional salad dressing because the cider vinegar and olive oil in the corn salad was plenty to flavor the whole thing.

Dinner last night was rotisserie chicken, leftover brown basmati rice (again, grains!), and from-the-garden squash and zucchini courtesy of my cousin Margaret who lives in Charleston, SC and is already harvesting veggies!  I sauteed them with Vidalia onions, garlic, and olive oil, and seasoned with kosher salt and ground pepper.

Lunch today was at home, so I made myself a quesadilla with leftover rotisserie chicken, greens, black beans, avocado, and cheese.  Served with Green Mountain Gringo Medium Salsa (my *favorite* store-bought salsa!) and a dollop of plain Greek yogurt in place of sour cream.

That about covers it!  I am looking forward to being home this weekend and getting in my regularly scheduled workouts, as well as some other fun happenings.  Stay tuned!

Do you adjust your workout routine for the summer?  How do you maintain when “life” gets back in the way? 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Cycling, Leftovers, Restaurants, running, swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

